‘Toy Story 4’ To Be Woody and Bo Peep Love Story

toystory2woodyandbo2

I’m not on board with Toy Story 4 and I’m definitely not on board with a Woody/Bo Peep love story. I just find it completely unnecessary. The original trilogy is beloved. I don’t think they could and I don’t think they should ruin the perfect box set with another one.

I like Woody (and Tom Hanks’ voice work), but I don’t know if Bo Peep was that memorable of a character. She didn’t go on any of their adventures so she wasn’t really part of the gang. She wasn’t in Toy Story 3, and there was lot’s of speculation as to why. It was sort of implied that she’d died. But apparently, the only reason she wasn’t in the movie was because her porcelain face would’ve melted in the trash incinerator scene. That’s literally why John Laseter left her out of the movie. I think that’s kind of hilarious. For the fourth movie, Woody will probably be trying to find where she went (we’re all pretty curious).

I guess the premise works, but it’s not on the level of Toy Story 3, which was the perfect ending. Now that they are making Toy Story 4, I wouldn’t be surprised if they made a fifth one. Because now how are they going to end it? Pixar’s been rocky with their latest movies (I’m the only one that didn’t like Inside Out). I’ve found them to be incredibly emotionally manipulative. They put in a scene not for the sake of the story, but to make us cry (why did the trash incinerator scene exist!?). I’m putting money down that Bo Peep, being a fragile porcelain doll, will somehow fall and shatter into a million pieces at the end. I guarantee it.

In a couple years, I might warm up to the idea, but for now, I think it’s a risky and unwise decision to continue with the trilogy. Or sorry, quartet. I don’t think I’ll ever get used to saying that. The only way I’d get on board for a Toy Story 4 romantic comedy would be if it was between the piggy bank and bacon, but I don’t think that’s every going to happen.

Leave a Reply

